First Time Driver


Graduated License or Learner License- to earn a learner license, you must be at least 15 years old. You will need to provide the following:

  • Proof that you completed a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course (the course provider will electronically submit this information and it will be available to all Florida Driver License Offices.)
  • Notarized Parental Consent Form IF parent or guardian will not be present. If you are under 18 and are not married, a parent or legal guardian must sign your license application.
  • Required Documents to satisfy REAL ID requirements (if applicant does not currently possess a valid Florida Learner's Permit or Identification Card:
  1. Certified Birth Certificate from Vital Statistics (photo copies cannot be accepted) or valid U.S. Passport
  2. Original Social Security Card
  3. Two proofs of residential Florida address* dated within the last 30 days ( this can be two pieces of mail with their name and address). (*Parents can provide the two proofs of address and sign an affidavit at the office stating the student resides with them.) You can visit for more information regarding acceptable documents for non-US citizens. 
  4. If child's name has changed since birth, please provide any certified name change documents such as a court order. 
  • If the applicant wears glasses for distance, please bring your glasses as an eye test will be conducted. 

We strongly encourage individuals to study for the test.

*Appointments are required for all testing. Proof of insurance is also required when taking a driving test. To schedule a driving test, book online or call our Customer Support Center at (850)248-8501. 

Phase I – Learner’s License

  • Minimum age requirement for Learner’s License – 15 Years Old
  • Drivers must always have a licensed driver 21 years or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver.
  • For the first three months, driving is limited to daylight hours only.
  • After three months, hours are extended to 10 p.m.
  • Teen must hold Learner’s License for 12 months conviction-free.
  • A knowledge exam is required to be taken. The exam consists of 50 multiple choice scenario-based questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. Individuals must answer 40 questions correctly to pass. Those preparing to take the knowledge exam are strongly encouraged to study the handbook.
  • A Vision Test will also be given using an eye machine. To pass, you must have 20/40 (or better) vision in each and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses.

Phase II – Intermediate Operator’s License

  • Once teens receive an Operator’s License, driving hours are based on their age.
  • At 16, driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
  • At 17, driving is allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

*At any other time, 16 and 17 year old drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the closest seat to the right, or be traveling to or from work.

Download the HANBOOK (ENGLISH) here.

Download the HANDBOOK (SPANISH) here.

Driving Exam Instructions (Please review prior to your appointment.)