Concealed Weapon Application Information

The Bay County Tax Collector’s Office became a Concealed Weapon License Application Intake site for the Florida Department of Agriculture in May of 2017. The service is available in our Panama City and Lynn Haven Offices. 

Make An Appointment | Join the Line Virtually

Appointments can be scheduled for first-time applicants as well as renewals. Each person wishing to apply or renew must have an appointment. 

What You Need to Bring

  • Certificate of Completion from a firearms training class or other document that evidences your competence with a firearm. Your training must include live fire using a firearm and ammunition.  (Florida Hunter’s Safety Course Certificate, DD-214, current military orders qualify as proof of training.) If your name has changed since you took the course, you will need to provide the documents (marriage license, court order, etc.) to show the name change.
  • Identification
  • $119.00- check, cash, credit/debit accepted for payment. Convenience fees apply to debit and credit transactions. 
  • If you were born outside the U.S., we'll need proof of U.S. Citizenship. 


To be Eligible for a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License:  

  • You must be 21 years of age or older.
  • You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm.
  • Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United States and be a U.S. citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service. If you are serving overseas in the U.S. Armed Forces, submit a copy of your deployment documentation with your application. Those who are Resident Aliens must provide a valid Permanent Resident Alien card.


How the Process Works

For first-time applicants, upon arrival for your service you will complete an online application, firearms course documentation will be scanned in, photo taken and be fingerprinted. All information is submitted to Tallahassee electronically and the applicant is provided a copy of everything submitted. The in office process takes approximately 30 minutes to complete. The Department of Agriculture will review the application, complete the background check and upon approval the concealed weapon license will be mailed to the applicant. In most cases the cost is $119.00.

Florida residents renewing a permit will have address information verified, photo taken and the updated card printed and provided to them before they leave the office. The cost for a Florida resident to renew is $57.00. Individuals who do not reside in Florida will be fingerprinted during renewal. The cost for an out of state resident to renew is $104.

The license is good for 7 years.

Florida Law Enforcement Discounts

Active Florida law enforcement officers and retired Florida law enforcement officers are eligible for a discount. To receive the discounted rate of $77 for first time applicant, an individual must provide a letter from their employer on agency letterhead stating they are currently employed as a Florida law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer. The letter must be signed by the agency head, the agency’s authorized representative, or the agency’s personnel officer. Retired officers must bring a copy of an official document that shows the date of your retirement and the name of the public agency from which you retired. Florida law enforcement officers retired within the preceding year pay $22 and Florida law enforcement officers retired more than one year pay $94 for first time applications. The renewal fee for both is $42. The renewal fee for an active Florida law enforcement officer is $57.

(Note: Florida law does not extend this fee exemption to federal law enforcement retirees or law enforcement retirees from other states.)

Application Status

If you have already applied for your concealed weapon permit and are looking to determine the status of your application, you can do so online through the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS). The Tax Collector's Office does not have access to the status of applications once we have submitted your information electronically to FDACS. All application updates will have to be obtained through the FDACS.